Blogging Like It’s Ulaanbaatar

I’ve been blogging about Mongolia for some years now. One of the recurring formats recently has become that I take notes about observations from Ulaanbaatar as that city is changing so rapidly.

As I’ve been writing about my impressions of Berlin for some months now, it strikes me that I notice similar things and look for explanations in a similar way, though my interest in Berlin is more historical, while Ulaanbaatar always holds the possibility of future development.

But, my gaze or position vis-a-vis these cities-as-subjects seems somewhat similar. I feel at home in both cities, though obviously differently in many ways. I didn’t think I was a foreigner in Berlin, but maybe my posts reflect the perspective of an outsider…

Leave a Reply

